You are here

Membership

To be a member of Old South Church is to enter the company of Revolutionary Era heroes, abolitionists, suffragettes, anti-poverty crusaders, and poets. Our saints include Benjamin Franklin, Samuel Adams, Phillis Wheatley ... and maybe you!

Inspired by the witness of these forebears, we aspire to be Christians who rise to the calling of our own moment. In times of unrest, Old South Church offers sanctuary. When there are rumors of war, we plead for peace. Where there is need, we work to meet it. Where there is distrust, we seek understanding.

Will you join hands with us in this high and holy work?

Members (as distinguished from guests or periodic attenders) make promises to God and to each other: to support and serve one another, to love and live for God, to work for the welfare of the church and the city. Members are those who have committed, those who can be counted on, to continue Old South Church’s mission of justice-making in Jesus’ name.

To help us reflect on these promises to be made and to explore the common life of the congregation, we invite you to attend one of our Connections Lunches.

Connections Lunches offer an opportunity to meet others new to the Old South Church family, and learn what makes this vibrant, diverse, progressive Christian community tick! We'll talk about what it might mean for you to jump in and join us on the pilgrimage of faith. (A light meal is served at each class and childcare is made available with advance notice.)

Connections Lunch Schedule 2018-19

Sunday, October 14, 12:30 pm

Sunday, December 9, 12:30 pm

Sunday, February 17, 12:30 pm

Sunday, June 2, 12:30pm

Member Joining Services 2017-18

Thursday, October 18, Jazz Worship
Sunday, October 21, First and Festival Worship

Thursday, December 13, Jazz Worship
Sunday, December 16, First and Festival Worship

Thursday, February 21, Jazz Worship
Sunday, February 24, First and Festival Worship

Thursday, June 13, Jazz Worship
Sunday, June 16, First and Festival Worship

Contact Name: 
Helen McCrady, Sr. Church Administrator
(617) 536-1970